#TBRtakedown Challenge | Reviews

I’m back! πŸ˜›
imback
Sorry for the week long absence, but there was no way I would even make a dent in this reading challenge if I didn’t step away from the blog for a bit!
Unfortunately as I predicted, I wasn’t able to read all 5 books. However I think 3.5 out of 5 is a pretty good accomplishment! I’m slowly making my way through Glass Sword now, and after I’m done I’ll go ahead and read the final book for the challenge, All the Bright Places. Might as well finish what I’ve started, right?

So moving right along, here are my thoughts on the three books I managed to read!


Every Day by David Levithan This has got to be one of the most unique and unusual books I think I’ve ever read! The concept of being a soul without a permanent home, forced to start over each day as a 24 hour guest in a random persons’ body was so intriguing. I really enjoyed getting a peek into the lives and minds of such a wide variety of individuals. The more I read, the more I  appreciated the loving family and the easy life I have. Aside from the super interesting concept, the writing in this was so beautiful and poetic; my copy of the book is now filled with colourful post-it tabs marking passages that I loved.

I don’t have a ton of negative things to say about this book, but I was a bit unsatisfied with the ending. I feel like the decision A made in the end concerning his relationship with Rhiannon was unfair and domineering. You cant just make a decision like that without discussing it with her first!
ummno.gif
Not only was it unfair, but it was unsafe. There’s no way he could really know for sure what would happen when she woke up the next morning. Also, what about Reverend Poole? I was dying to find out what he knows, but I was left disappointed. My only other real complaint was the insta-loveyness between A and Rihannon; A was a little too starry-eyed over her which I wasn’t a huge fan of.
Overall, I really did enjoy this book. The incredibly unique concept was enough to keep me interested from start to finish, and as reflected in my rating, enough to make me overlook most of the issues I had with it. I recommend this to anyone looking for something really original and out of the ordinary to mix things up a bit! My rating: β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

β—Šβ™¦β—Š

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner I picked this up at a thrift store a couple of weeks ago and was really excited to have found it. The Serpent King was one of those books that seemed to come out of nowhere, and all of a sudden took over my Instagram and Goodreads feeds! So of course with all of that hype, I had pretty lofty expectations going into it.
Unfortunately, my expectations were a bit too high.
This story takes place in Tennessee, and though I have passed through the state I don’t pretend to know much about it. However, despite not being an expert on Tennessee or anything “southern”, I feel like there was some serious stereotyping going on in this book. Other than the main characters, most of the people in this book were portrayed as being (among other things) either racists, religious extremists, or just generally backwards thinking individuals. Dil, Lydia, and Travis appeared to be the only open-minded people in their whole school, which is a little hard to believe. With all of these negative representations of the region and people and the gloomy, heavy subject matter, this was definitely one of the most depressing YA contemporaries I’ve read.sad
Speaking of depressing, there was one thing that bothered me about this book more than anything else. For the sake of being spoiler-free, I wont reveal exactly what that is, but lets just say there was a certain tragedy near the end. In my opinion it was a really awful plot device, and a totally lazy move on the author’s part; it only served to push two characters together into romance that felt forced and dull. notcool.gif
I guess this just wasn’t my cup of tea. It covered some things I’ve definitely never read about which was refreshing, but nevertheless, there wasn’t anything spectacular about it in my eyes. I really wanted to like this! In fact, out of the books I chose to read for #TBRtakedown this was the one I was most anticipating. Oh well, not every book can be a favorite! My rating: β˜…β˜…β˜…

β—Šβ™¦β—Š

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson Another book that I was totally expecting to love but came away from feeling a bit disappointed.
The writing itself was beautiful, but aside from that there wasn’t a lot that I was impressed with. First off I was getting a bit confused with all the multiple POVs, and it took me a while to realize that the identities of Kaden and Rafe were hidden. Then came the big plot twist; the big shocking who’s who reveal! As it turned out I guessed their identities correctly, so unfortunately that big shocker of a plot twist was lost on me. lsot.gif
After that, I was steadily losing interest in the book. I just couldn’t bring myself to really care about the characters or anything! I found Lia to be quite selfish most of the time, and manipulative. At one point she lies to her friend Pauline about something huge, apparently meaning well and only trying to protect her. However if I were Pauline, if I ever found out the truth I would HATE Lia!
gonnakillyou
I just don’t feel like she had the right to lie like that to her! Also, Lia was a textbook special snowflake princess if I ever saw one.
Kaden and Rafe were alright characters, but at the same time I’m not a huge fan of love triangles or insta-love so I wasn’t quite feeling the romance in this book either.
The magic system in this book was also a bit vague and confusing to me, but I figure that’s probably something that gets fleshed out more in the sequel. Unfortunately though, I don’t think I’ll be rushing out to buy the rest of the series. There’s just too many other books out there that I’m dying to read! My rating: β˜…β˜…β˜….5

Did any of you guys end up participating in the challenge? If so, how many books and what books did you read? πŸ™‚

J

Leave a Reply

